The 23rd Trofeo Alfredo Binda – Comune di Cittiglio and the 9th Mini-Trofeo Binda – Valli del Verbano


The 23rd Trofeo Alfredo Binda – Comune di Cittiglio and the 9th Mini-Trofeo Binda – Valli del Verbano

The twenty-third Trofeo Alfredo Binda for elite women and the ninth Mini-Trofeo Binda – Valli del Verbano for junior women will start in Cocquio Trevisago; both competitions will end in Cittiglio, along the slight Via Valcuvia slope.

The elite race will cover 143 km overall, while the junior race will involve 73 km.The 23rd Trofeo Alfredo Binda – Comune di Cittiglio, a race on the UCI Women’s World Tour calendar and the 9th mini-Trofeo Binda – Valli del Verbano, the opening race of the Junior Women’s Nations Cup is scheduled for Sunday 20 March.

In the elite race, last year’s winner, Elisa Longo Borghini will be at the starting line, together with the number two Elisa Balsamo, the reigning world champion. Among the favourites are Cecilie Uttrup Ludwig, Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio, Chantal Blaak. Katrine Aalerud and Mavi Garcia. But there are many athletes who aspire to win in Cittiglio.

Among the juniors, predictions are difficult, with the only certainty,  thanks to our experience from the past eight editions; the winner will be an athlete who will later prove to be a great champion.

The 23rd Trofeo Alfredo Binda
Elisa Longo Borghini, vincitrice del trofeo Binda – Comune di Cittiglio nel 2021 – foto Flaviano Ossola
The race route

The elite women’s race route is divided into three different sections. The first section includes a 7 km loop through Olginasio and Besozzo (to be repeated twice). Then there is a second stretch up to Luino with the Grantola and Brinzio climbs. Finally, the athletes will cover the traditional final circuit, to be repeated four times, passing through Brenta, Casalzuigno, Cuveglio, Cuvio, Orino, Azzio, Gemonio and Cittiglio.

The junior women’s race circuit includes two laps of the initial circuit through Olginasio and Besozzo. Then a third lap that passes through Gemonio and Cittiglio, where the final circuit begins that is identical to that of the elite race.

Start of the junior race; 8.25 am. Expected finish: shortly after 10.00
Start of the elite race: 12.10. Expected finish: after 4.45 pm.


On March 20, 2022 ASD Cycling Promotion Sport organizes in Cittiglio the following cycling race:

– 23° Trofeo Alfredo Binda – Comune di Cittiglio, entered on UCI Women Elite calendar in class Women World Tour, reserved to women elite category;

– 9° Piccolo Trofeo Alfredo Binda – Valli del Verbano, entered on UCI Women Junior calendar in class Nations’
Cup, reserved to women junior category.


14.00 – 17.00: Accreditation for organisation and press.
14.00 – 16.45: Team license check and distribution of identification  numbers.
17.00: Elite and Junior Team Managers’ meeting.
17.30: Race security briefing, to be attended by all persons driving cars and motorcycles, a representative of TV broadcasting and Police

7.00 – 18.00: Headquarters opening – competition secretary office
9.00 – 19.00: Opening of Press Room to the accredited journalists.
7.30 – 8.15: Teams presentation Piccolo Trofeo Alfredo Binda.
8.25: Start Piccolo Trofeo Alfredo Binda.
10.20: Finish podium ceremony Piccolo Trofeo Alfredo Binda.
11.15 – 12.00: Teams presentation Trofeo Alfredo Binda
12.10: Start Trofeo Alfredo Binda.
13.30: Award ceremony Piccolo Trofeo Alfredo Binda
16.00: Finish, award ceremony Trofeo Alfredo Binda.
16.30: Press conference of the winner and the leaders of Women’s World Tour classifications at the Press

Anniina Ahtosalo, vincitrice del Piccolo Trofeo Binda – Valli del Verbano 2021 – foto Flaviano Ossola
Cittiglio (VA), 18 marzo 2022

– Canyon // SRAM Racing
– EF Education-TIBCO-SVB
– FDJ Nouvelle-Aquitaine Futuroscope
– LIV Racing Xstra
– Movistar Team Women
– Roland Cogeas Edelweiss Squad
– Team BikeExchange-Jayco
– Team DSM
– Team Jumbo-Visma
– Team SD Worx
– Trek-Segafredo
– UAE Team ADQ
– Ceratizit-WNT Pro Cycling Team
– Parkhotel Valkenburg
– Valcar-Travel & Service
– Cofidis
– NXTG By Experza
– Aromitalia-Basso Bikes-Vaiano
– BePink
– Born to Win G20 Ambedo
– Isolmant-Premac-Vittoria
– Servetto-Makhymo-Beltrami TSA
– Team Mendelspeck
– Top Girls Fassa Bortolo

– Austria
– Danimarca
– Francia
– Germania
– Gran Bretagna
– Lettonia
– Paesi Bassi
– Repubblica Ceca
– Slovacchia
– Slovenia
– Spagna
– Svizzera
– NXTG Racing
– Team Rytger
– WV Schijndel
– Doltcini Van Eyck Sport Animotion
– Ciclismo Insieme-Team Di Federico
– Breganze-Millenium
– C.C. Canturino 1902 A.S.D.
– G.S. Gauss
– Racconigi Cycling Team
– A.S.D. Team 1971
– Team Wilier-Chiara Pierobon
– A.S.D Team Lady Zuliani
– U.C. Conscio Pedale del Sile
– Valcar-Travel & Service
– Vallerbike A.S.D.
– Vo2 Team Pink
– Zhiraf-Guerciotti


Sunday 20 March 2022
RAISPORT live from 14.30 to 16.15
Eurosport 2, Eurosport player and GCN Race from 14.30 to 16.05

Live on:
– PMG Sport Facebook page
– PMG Sport Youtube pagei

Trofeo Alfredo Binda Hall of Fame
2021    Elisa Longo Borghini    ITA
2020    n.d.
2019    Marianne Vos    OLA
2018    Katarzyna Niewiadoma    POL
2017    Coryn Rivera    USA
2016    Elizabeth Armitstead    GBR
2015    Elizabeth Armitstead    GBR
2014    Emma Johansson    SVE
2013    Elisa Longo Borghini    ITA
2012    Marianne Vos    OLA
2011    Emma Pooley    GBR
2010    Marianne Vos    OLA
2009    Marianne Vos    OLA
2008    Emma Pooley    GBR
2007    Nicole Cooke    GBR
2006    Regina Schleicher    GER
2005    Nicole Cooke    GBR
2004    Oenone Wood      AUS
2003    Diana Ziliute    LIT
2002    Svetlana Bubnenkova    RUS
2001    Nicole Brandli    SVI
2000    Fabiana Luperini    ITA

Mini-Trofeo Alfredo Binda Hall of Fame
2021    Anniina Ahtosalo FIN
2020    n.d.
2019    Megan Jastrab    USA
2018    Pfeiffer Georgi    GBR
2017    Lorena Wiebes    OLA
2016    Clara Capponi    FRA
2015    Sofia Bertizzolo ITA
2014    Amalie Dideriksen DAN
2013    Milda Jankauskaite LIT
2007    Marina Romoli    ITA
2006    Marta Bastianelli    ITA
2005    Katy Redolini    ITA
2004    Lisa Bacchiavini    ITA
2003    Valentina Simonetti    ITA
2002    Giorgia Bronzini    ITA
2001    Anna Gusmini    ITA
2000    Anna Gusmini    ITA

Share this article

News, Race

HERO 2023 Sudtirol Dolomites

The toughest mountain bike marathon in the world is back: on 17 June 2023 the 13th edition of the BMW HERO Sudtirol Dolomites will…
HERO 2023 Sudtirol Dolomites

BikePark Wales And Bigmoose Join Force

Bikepark Wales And Bigmoose Join Forces On £1 Million Project To Raise Money For Mental Health Services BikePark Wales, the UK’s largest purpose-built bike…
BikePark Wales